Nice to meet you

I’m generally a glad person, but my mother named me Megan Ann Duncan. I’m not sure if she intended me to be angry all the time or just plain crazy.

I hail from Wattsburg, Pa., and have spent the last eight years living in and near Pittsburgh. I majored in print journalism at Point Park University and have worked at newspapers since graduation.

I don’t think that it will be too many more years before we have to quit calling this “New Media” and refer to it as simply “media” as the old ways of doing things become obsolete. So, I’m excited to learn about how these types of media will interact with a functioning government and society.

  1. #1 by Mindy McAdams on August 26, 2010 - 3:03 am

    I lived in Pennsylvania until I was 22 years old, but – can you believe it? – I have NEVER been to Pittsburgh!

    • #2 by alonewithadream on August 26, 2010 - 4:02 am

      You’ve made it through life without a Parmanti’s sandwich? Unbelievable 🙂

      I see you did your undergrad at Penn State. I’ve been there several times, including an intensive summer workshop on journalism that really made me think about how countries made the transition from government-controlled press to a free press. It was a real lesson in democracy for some of the attendees from former Soviet contries to learn how to question and be critical of their government. There was a whole generation without trained reporters. If only we could have worked new media into it, we could have called the workshop New Media and Democracy.

      • #3 by Mindy McAdams on August 26, 2010 - 2:28 pm

        Never heard of Parmanti’s! I guess my foodie life is incomplete …

        That workshop sounds pretty cool. It’s always so fascinating to be in a discussion about press freedom with people from other countries (even countries we assume to be similar to the U.S.!). I was in Vietnam for a month in 2008 and met about 60 local journalists there. They are very interested in reporting seriously about important issues in their society — but they would also like to stay out of jail!

  2. #4 by Kayley Thomas on August 26, 2010 - 3:25 am

    Hi! High-five for a fellow Pennsylvanian! I lived in PA for the first 23 years of my life – I’m originally from Reedsville, PA, and I went to Carnegie Mellon for my MA. I loved living in Pittsburgh – if I could physically transplant UF there, I would!

    The “new”-ness of new media – is it really new at all, and how long can it be considered new? – is definitely interesting. Have you read Remediation: Understanding New Media by Bolter and Grusin? It talks a lot about how we only define “new” media by its homage to “old” media, and that any idea of the new is a myth. They argue that all media has always been about remediating past media and explore why it is we want the myth of the new so much. It’s a pretty good read.

    • #5 by alonewithadream on August 26, 2010 - 3:52 am

      Yippee. There is another person who will understand what I mean if I start drooling about fries from the O.

      I haven’t read that book, but I think I must put it on my list because I am interested in the constant evolution of media. But, I’ve already thought about the re-invention of old media a lot. Specifically this example: Constantly we are warned in newspaper articles and even textbooks that we shouldn’t post stupid stuff to social networking sites. Haven’t we got the message yet? But then, how many years after the party phoneline was invented were people warned not to say something private because someone else could be listening?

    • #6 by Mindy McAdams on August 26, 2010 - 2:31 pm

      Have you read Clay Shirky’s book Here Comes Everybody? I think it’s a bit more relevant today than Bolter & Grusin — although less intellectual.

      • #7 by alonewithadream on August 26, 2010 - 6:38 pm

        No, I haven’t. Sounds like I need to greatly expand my Barnes & Noble wishlist.

Leave a Reply

